Google Music Beta

Tech Support Help Desk Forum
HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby HangOver on Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:44 pm

I remember using the first PC 80/86 or something. that was upgraded to a 286 and then a 486. then I bought my first computer by myself, a blazing fast pentium 75MHz monster! but I did my first ever programming on an old ass atari ... 2600 I think. can't really remember. ahhhh the good ol' days.

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] [ img ]

[Creep]-Tyrant
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:47 am
Location: The Armpit of North Carolina

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [Creep]-Tyrant on Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:47 pm

My first computer was an Atari 800xl, 64K Ram, I think it ran at 1.79 Mhz (no positive of that number, been over 30 years now) and I had a cassette deck to save my stuff. I had no programs for it at all, just the book with all the B.A.S.I.C. commands and a few peek / poke addresses that were useful. I studied and experimented my ass off and eventually was making my own games and apps, but god saving and loading was horrible on tape, a few years later I got a 5 1/4" floppy disk drive which could store a whopping 128K per disk!

My second computer was a Commodore Amiga, now that thing was insanely awesome for it's time, it absolutely decimated everything else out there without question, it was really quite an amazing machine, it had a true multi tasking processor (the Motorola 68000), stereo digital sound, displayed 800x 600 res. with 13 million colors. Nothing else at that time even came remotely close to it except for the Atari 520 (and 1040) ST series, but they lacked the digital stereo sound and had half as many colors.

My first actual PC was a 286 / 6mhz with a 20 Meg Seagate MFM HDD (also my first hard drive ever).


Also, I rem Qemm zel, but I actually had already set up my own multi config and had it set up so I could select what game i wanted to pkay at startup and it would execute the proper configuration routine for that game, but of course any new game i still had to make the actual config files for the first time, after that my multi config would use those files to do it's job.

Qemm was great though, I was just stubborn, or maybe just enjoyed doing my own thing cuz I thought it was cool and i was more into programming back then.

[Creep]-Tyrant
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:47 am
Location: The Armpit of North Carolina

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [Creep]-Tyrant on Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:50 pm

Haha Hang, you must have been posting that as I was posting the above. It wouldn't have been a 2600, the 2600 was a cartridge gaming system, which I had also, got it in 1980 actually, delivering newspapers and cutting grass till I saved up the $200 to buy it.

You would have had to be using an Atari 600, 800, or 600xl or 800xl. Those were pretty much it for Atari for a while, other than some odd variations of those, like the 1200xl which was an 800xl with a floppy drive built in.

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby HangOver on Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:51 am

ahh yes that's right. i did some googling and these two were my first and second computers.

[ img ]

[ img ]

wow those pics take me back lol. my brother and i used to make very basic games on those. i remember how excited we were when we were FINALLY able to start including graphics in them. you know it's crazy when i think back on it because we didn't have the internet and our parents never encouraged us or bought us books on programming. we kind of just mucked through it and figured it out. crazy.

and when we finally saved up and got THIS bad boy, holy shit!

[ img ]

[Creep]-Tyrant
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:47 am
Location: The Armpit of North Carolina

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [Creep]-Tyrant on Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:07 pm

Oh god I wanted the touch pad Soooooo badly, but I never got it. I learned my programming the same way, the booklet that came with the computer didn't tell you very much, but it got me started, I cannot tell you how many times I crashed that thing experimenting with peek / poke trying to figure out what addresses would affect different things. After some years I began to start understanding the 'player / missile' graphics system that was at the heart of the graphics sub-system, that's when I actually started making some games that were cool enough even friends wanted to come play them. I had the 800xl as my first, with the cassette deck and disk drive I had exactly this:
[ img ]

And then (I guess i lied in my first post) my second computer was the 65 XE which you just posted a pic of, which was really the 800xl in a snappy new grey case (and was upgradeable to 128K). Actually the only real difference between your Atari 800 and my 800xl was 16k Ram, the 800 had 48k, while the 800xl had 64k.

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby zel on Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:09 pm

DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMN! and here i thought I was old school on a Tandy TRS-80 with the dual floppy drives...

[Creep]-Tyrant
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:47 am
Location: The Armpit of North Carolina

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [Creep]-Tyrant on Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:08 am

Ha, we had the TRS-80 (dubbed 'trash 80') in my old high school, those things were archaic even then, that Atari pictured above was light years ahead of them.

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby zel on Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:35 pm

ahh, i forgot which ones came first O.o Ya I got my programming start on TRS-80s

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby MaDSpartus on Sat Jul 02, 2011 1:45 am

im so young, my first was a 386

:P

[GWR]Droogan
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [GWR]Droogan on Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:16 am

I went the traditional route:

Abacus -> Calculator -> Vic-20 -> Commodore 64 -> XT -> AT -> 286 -> 386 -> 486 -> Pentium -> Pentium II -> Pentium III -> Pentium IV -> Core 2 Duo -> Quad Core

Apparently when I checked my records I've owned exactly 19 computers in the last 27 years, which makes sense because I buy a new one every 2 years, and now I own multiples (ie 2 laptops and 2 desktops).

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby MaDSpartus on Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:39 pm

i went the other brand....

amd 386/486
k6-166
k6-2-450
Althlon Thunderbird 1400 (the super hot one)
Ahlon xp 1700+ (the one with the great oc)
athlon 64 3000+
athlon 64 x2 4000+
Core2Duo E6400 (OMG, i switch to the evil empire)
Core2duo Q6600
Core i7-2600k


Now of course i've had plenty of others, but these were my main rig.

[Creep]-Tyrant
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 2:47 am
Location: The Armpit of North Carolina

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby [Creep]-Tyrant on Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:47 am

I stopped using Intel with the Pentium, I had a pentium 90Mhz as my last Intel based system (for a main, I have had several and still have a secondary Intel system). When the k-6 came out I got one and never went back to intel, not so much because of 'fanboyism' but just it was the cost effective thing and AMD was smoking Intel back then in performance. For the last several years I have been steady using the same rig, plus or minus a piece or two. Still using IDE HDD's, and I've been reduced to using an AMD 3000" (1.8 Ghz) single core processor. Though my rig does pretty well considering it's age and gimpiness I still owuld like to at least find a dual core processor to stick in here, but socket 939 is so out of date these days......

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby buzz on Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:32 am

okay okay, who remembers Cyrix?? The CPU that came and went .. Wonder what ever happened to them?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyrix

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby zel on Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:27 am

Yupp, i remember them. Tried to make their way as upgrade CPUs because they ran at high voltages and so you could squeeze a lil more life out of your board on the cheap. I thought they just faded away due to low demand in that market..??

glitch
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL.

Re: Google Music Beta

Postby glitch on Tue Jul 05, 2011 9:50 pm

I remember upgrading to a Cyrix between my 386 and my 486 DX because I could use the same 386 mobo i already had.. lasted all of 7 months on that CPU. it wasn't bad, just not a huge difference. The thing that really pisses me off now was paying $200 for a 4MB SIM for my 386. That was a fortune for me back then.

PreviousNext

Return to Tech Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron