Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Tech Support Help Desk Forum
MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Sat Jan 01, 2011 10:04 pm

So im posting from my new sandy bridge system. i totally lucked out and my local computer shop started selling them a couple weeks early. the chips are still under NDA so no major reviews out, but if anyone is considering purchasing and wants any specific benchmarks lets me know id be happy to run em :)


btw i consider this sweet justice for all the times i have to wait an extra few weeks to get shit in canada compared to the states :P

Core i7-2600K
Asus P8P67Pro
8GB DDR3-1600
Nvidia GTX 470
OCZ Vertex-2 120GB

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby zel on Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:05 pm

hax :P

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby buzz on Mon Jan 03, 2011 1:23 pm


HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby HangOver on Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:17 pm

i'm sure that within a couple days there will be a "fix" for that.

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby zel on Mon Jan 03, 2011 3:42 pm

WTF this has to be an early april fools joke :/ One more reason to stay AMD :P

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:57 pm

supports drm, which means you can play content which is drm locked. the alternative is not having drm support, and _not_ being able to play that content at all (or easily breaking it, hdcp lol)

i don't consider this a negative at all, technology or purchasing wise, but it does somewhat signify that the lobbiests for the media publishers and getting a toe hold, which is a bad thing. this isnt something that could prevent you from playing your own ripped content or whatever, its a compatibility issue with certain locked content which may be published later. once its unlocked...well :P

the technical details are very sparse, but it seems like its support for an already long broken lock anyways.

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby zel on Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:59 pm

Could be, but it reminds me of the cpu serial being completely accessible even over the web, that idea seemed kinda benign but was shot down anyways. Some shit just needs to be avoided so as not to open any doors that really should stay shut, like my parents bedroom when i was a kid.

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:31 am

i agree that cpu serial proposal was a nasty one and im glad it never happened. not much information on this new tech i gotta admit, but i think its what i described earlier.

-PC-Taishar
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby -PC-Taishar on Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:13 pm

Well I've been trying to find a motherboard and chip but cannot find a major online retailer that has it. I usually use Newegg and Tiger Direct. I prefer TD because I don't get charged sales tax. I want the Asus P67 board can't find that either. Kinda pissing me off.

Just popped up on Newegg...ugh taxes!

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:02 pm

haha spart i just remembered you were having connection issues for like a month. owned.
all that power and can't game online ;D

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:11 pm

Its not like I needed a rig this good to plat LoL anyways :P

Im enjoying it, despite having trouble even browsing webpages

oh just a quick check shows boards and chips in stock here:
http://www.ncixus.com/

I like shopping from them in canada and they serve the US too. GL getting what your looking for.

I'll be modifying my socket 775 waterblock in the next week or so to get some overclocking in with water cooling. Let you know how it goes.

-PC-Taishar
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby -PC-Taishar on Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:11 pm

All right I pulled the trigger.

Asus P8P67 Pro
i5 2500k
8Gb of Crucial 1600Mhz memory

I haven't purchased the vidcards yet but I think I'm going to get a single GTX 470 then double up in a year or so.

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:11 pm

nice rig :)

what kind of prices you get?

mantronic
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2451
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: miami.gif

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby mantronic on Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:23 pm

-PC-Taishar wrote:All right I pulled the trigger.

Asus P8P67 Pro
i5 2500k
8Gb of Crucial 1600Mhz memory

I haven't purchased the vidcards yet but I think I'm going to get a single GTX 470 then double up in a year or so.



tai stay away from the 470's if you want to double up always under allocation so you wont find any a year from now. the 460's will continue to move so will the 570's but 470s are done.


sparty tigerdirect canada sold over 300 chips before launch jan 9th we got a crap load of fines for it kinda sucks but we sourced all of canada..... any ways that probably going to be my next rig coming up in february. let me know if you need anything from tigerdirect i can tell you why or when we will show it. also, if you need anything to a local tigerdirect i can get it there even canada so you dont have to pay freight.

MaDSpartus
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: Intel Sandy Bridge Architechure

Postby MaDSpartus on Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:32 am

honestly that really sweet dude, thanks for the offer. i would be 100% all over that if the closest TD wasnt 500 km away. Really sucks, i find TD shipping a little too expensive and rarely shop with them because there is no local and shipping is high. every so often a see a great priced single item and grab it, but ive never done a full build with them.

Next

Return to Tech Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron