Page 1 of 1

EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 10:19 pm
by buzz
Has anyone played with one of these monstrosities? A friend of mines got one and we've been trying to set it up but keep running into problems. It's used so it's possible that the controller might be bad. Holla?

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 11:19 pm
by glitch
I prefer the Equilogic PS6000s myself, never got my hands on the EMCs, too expensive...

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:04 am
by buzz
Mario was able to get grab one used and real cheap.. It's a beast - full rack, 42u i'm guessing .. 22tb total. Now if we can just connect to the goddamn thing

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 9:45 am
by -]corrupt[- Lexon
Kiss it...it probably just needs some lovin...

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:47 pm
by glitch
if you dont have hardware HBAs and fiber channel switches, it get tricky, the iSCSI initiator they have for windows XP is a fickle bitch, the win2k3 version is slightly better.. I have no idea how win7's handles it.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 8:36 am
by MaDSpartus
im just curious was this a 'omg so cheap i have to have it' or was it a 'we actually need this, im glad we got a good price'

that thing must draw some ridiculous power. for iops on small amounts of data i would think solid state is by far the way to go now, pays for itself in power savings compared to that beast. for copious amounts of storage with lower iops then a smaller array of newer drives might make more sense.

not saying this isnt still useful, it just seems like it may be a maintenance nightmare and high operational cost.




on and heh, i just picked up a nice 42u ibm rack wednesday for an awesome price. not for personal use though.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2010 9:33 am
by buzz
It was one of those 'omg its so cheap' deals. What he's going to do with it is still up in the area. He can prolly use it for his business but it's way overkill.

@glitch - we got an old HP server with a fiber channel card in there. Got the cable in there ready to go but now im just trying to get to the controller to configure it, carve out some volumes, anything. Tried via console cables but got nothing back. I've read that you have to create a DUN connection, PPP, to it but that won't work either.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:43 pm
by glitch
stupid question time, did he get the software with it? It's pretty useless without the management software, console is usually for toubleshooting on those big SANs. And it goes without saying but i'll say it anyway, RTFM.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 11:10 pm
by buzz
Nope, didn't come with anything .. The configuration software is all web based from what I read. I found a torrent with tons of apps, pdf's and cbt's on this sucker so gonna see how what we can come up with.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 3:23 pm
by PCMILPH
We used them at work I didnt personally use it often or for much but like glitch said without the management software I think youre pretty much SoL. I could probably get a copy of it esp since they are decommissioning the cx700s where i used to work. if you want me to check into it let me know.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:32 pm
by buzz
Sure man, if it won't be any trouble. Do you have any contacts with people that are good at working with that POS? Just for a question or too, not looking for full on support or anything.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:18 am
by PCMILPH
if you post questions I can ask the guy who used to run them see what I can do for you

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 10:43 am
by PCMILPH
buzz i asked about the software for the cx700 and this was the response. give it a go and let me know

its web based assign the CX700 an IP and browse
your friend may also be able to download Navasphere from the EMC website for free.

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:41 pm
by buzz
That's the issue i'm having - I can't assign an IP address because I can't get into it.

If I console into either controller via serial cable (a realllly long one that it came with), I get no response from the machine. The other controller response with a LAN SERVICE ERROR, and some other info (don't have it on me). Also, if I type anything, it's coming up in ** asterisks ** so can I assume thats a password field of some sort? Once I can get the IP, I can do the rest i'm sure.

I read somewhere that you have to use Dial Up Networking to get into this thing via serial cables. Is that true?

Re: EMC Clariion CX700

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:02 pm
by PCMILPH
ill ask some questions and get back to you w answers