Home audio setup advice

WickedNET : an unthreaded nut
Rush
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2213
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Home audio setup advice

Postby Rush on Thu May 16, 2013 4:03 pm

I am trying to figure out how to setup audio and TV in a new home. I've got my TV in the family room. I want to buy a surround sound system for that room. I'm guessing i need 5.1 channel speakers for that. I also have 4 rooms in the house that have 2 speakers mounted in the ceiling. The wires for those speakers come out to where the TV is in my family room. What kind of receiver/amplifier do I need to power the TV 5.1 speakers and the speakers throughout the house? I'd like to be able to have the TV on and be listening to something else like the radio in the other rooms. Just need to know what to buy to hook it all up.

zel
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2442
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Naples, FL

Re: Home audio setup advice

Postby zel on Thu May 16, 2013 6:47 pm

I haven't kept up with home theater stuff for years but i dug around and found these:

This one can play 2 sources to 2 zones but the problem is zone2 is pre-amp and so you'd need to run it through another amp/receiver.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... alParent=1

Here is a Denon that has a powered zone 2 built in, it's basically the same as the Yamaha below, The output on that zone is either 2 channels for 7.1 sound or 2 channels used as zone2.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... alParent=1

And this is a Yamaha that does the same thing as the Denon above though it is supposedly 'smart' about zone 2 where you can setup a 7.1 arrangement and it cuts over the 2 rear channels to zone 2 when needed, but if you aren't using zone 2 then it uses them for 7 channel sound instead of just 5.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... alParent=1

Of course the problem with all of these, and pretty much any receiver I found, is there is only ever a 'zone 2' and not 'zone 2, 3, 4, 5' so you can just pick your rooms, it's an all or nothing kind of thing. I have seen some with a 'zone3' but those run 1500-2000 bucks. I don't know if your 4 rooms are individually wired or what but if you want discreet room selection you will need some kind of switch :/

Maybe someone with more professional knowledge of HT systems can hook you up with a better solution O.o good luck man, hope that helps a bit.


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron