New tab or window

Report any problems with the website here.
-PC-Taishar
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

New tab or window

Postby -PC-Taishar on Fri Mar 26, 2010 6:21 am

I know it's not really a bug, but is there any way to make clicking a link in the forums default to opening up in a new tab or window? Since toon rarely posts anything but links anymore and I hang on every word he posts I usually end up four or five links away from wicked.

I also know there is a keyboard shortcut to open a link in a new tab, and that I can right click and open in a new tab, the fact is I don't always remember to do this.

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: New tab or window

Postby buzz on Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:39 am

This one has been on my to-do list for a while. I thought it was annoying that links would use the same window. Let's see what i can find

[GWR]Droogan
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New tab or window

Postby [GWR]Droogan on Fri Mar 26, 2010 10:56 am

Click the middle mouse button wheel to open new tab?

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: New tab or window

Postby HangOver on Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:47 am

yeah i just ctrl+click here :D but it would be nice if it automatically opened in a new tab.

-PC-Taishar
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

Re: New tab or window

Postby -PC-Taishar on Sat Mar 27, 2010 3:14 am

[GWR]Droogan wrote:Click the middle mouse button wheel to open new tab?


Now that one i DIDN'T know. Ctrl Click is what i was referring to earlier. Middle click is pretty easy but it would still be nice for it to be default.

[GWR]Droogan
 
Posts: 1418
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 11:14 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New tab or window

Postby [GWR]Droogan on Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:41 am

Actually when I first got a wheel mouse umpteen years ago I didn't even know the wheel could be pushed down as a button. I don't think I realized that until I started playing WoW and was quickly running out of mouse keys.

Now I used this (with all the weights in because I'm a real man):

[ img ]

Side buttons when browsing act as forward/back. Middle wheel button as open in new window.

-PC-Taishar
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2724
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Camp Pendleton, CA

Re: New tab or window

Postby -PC-Taishar on Sat Mar 27, 2010 12:01 pm

I have the mx500. I bound the side buttons to ctrl and shift. It comes in handy in any number of situations. Including wow when you can bind all those keys close to your left hand to ctrl+ and shift+ which gives you three times the number of keys you normally get. Although I could never get Ctrl+shift+button to work. Guess it was mouse overload.

Mostly I just use it when manipulating files. Ctrl selecting or shift selecting is made much easier.


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron