1.6 is out. has new maps!

It's what all the kids are playing these days...
HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:42 pm

should we upgrade? hehe

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby buzz on Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:02 pm

i'm down .. Where's the link to the client update?

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:10 pm


glitch
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL.

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby glitch on Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:47 pm

wow 283MB.. they had better have fixed the server browser this time..

yeah we'll need to upgrade especially if we play on other servers as well

glitch
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1817
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL.

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby glitch on Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:57 pm

on a related note the mod tools are 600mb.. i'm going to try them out to see if I can help with the open source mod.. it'll give me something else to do..

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby buzz on Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:03 pm

Whats the game plan on upgrading? I'm downloading now .... Want to do it today then play it tonight?

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:08 pm

server should be 1.6 now.

i didn't see anything in the change list about the server browser :(

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:56 am

on a related note the mod tools are 600mb.. i'm going to try them out to see if I can help with the open source mod.. it'll give me something else to do..


awesome man, represent! ;D

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:31 am

glitch wrote:on a related note the mod tools are 600mb.. i'm going to try them out to see if I can help with the open source mod.. it'll give me something else to do..


see if you can figure out a way to change the on-screen icons for the cap points. that huge GREEN/RED/WHITE flag it puts always ends up blocking my view. maybe there's a way we could make them smaller or transparent (or non-existant). INS has a way you can toggle the display which would be uber dope. when you want to see the flags you just press M or something.

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:52 am

maybe you can figure out a way to do push/battle maps ;D

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Thu Jun 05, 2008 1:46 pm

-wicked-toon-X wrote:maybe you can figure out a way to do push/battle maps ;D


omg i would worship you as a god for this! lol

Phyrez
 
Posts: 1440
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Omicron Theta System, Freeport 9

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby Phyrez on Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:46 pm

HangOver wrote:
-wicked-toon-X wrote:maybe you can figure out a way to do push/battle maps ;D


omg i would worship you as a god for this! lol


<--- Another disciple if this happens!

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Thu Jun 05, 2008 3:54 pm

i was thinking about it and i think it could be done by manipulating king of the hill

thre already is designated places where the HQs pop up, if there was a way to make them all exist at once
than label them as A B C D E and only let them activate when the previous one is taken you can create a
pattern in which the battle goes from one side of the map to the other

i did a rough idea of how it would be. i don't know if spawning can be controlled at all with code or if the game just
has a way of calculating where people should spawn or whatever but i put where the spawning would kind of go for
each point even though it won't matter that much at first.

the red points are the places that have HQs (i might have missed one)
Attachments
downpour example.JPG
downpour example
(47.06 KiB) Downloaded 288 times

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby HangOver on Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:01 pm

one thing i've always NOT liked about push maps is the inability to RETAKE positions on defense. let me try to explain how i envision this.

using toons map. attacking team starts at 1, defending team at 2. this is where they would spawn (i don't think we'd need 5 points but that's debatable). if the attacking team takes 2, that's where they spawn from and the defending team is PUSHED back to 3 and will spawn from there. now, if the defending team can RETAKE 2, they should be able to do so and the spawns would shift back to 1(for the attackers) and 2(for the defenders). it's a little different than INS but different can be better. it would take some work to figure out how many respawns each team should get, but that's part of the fun. the attackers should have more obviously.

i don't know maybe it's a dumb idea but i think it would be more fun than just 1 > 2 > 3 etc. it would be more like a battle but it would reward teamwork more than the standard push formula.

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: 1.6 is out. has new maps!

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:47 pm

yeah the way i put the spawns is the way i think the way the game can do it.

if we could do our own it would work like you are saying. what you described there is a battle map.

push - attacking team goes from point 1 to point 5 in order. attacking team has a limited number of spawns and
gains a few more when they take each point. the defending team has unlimited re-spawns but it takes longer for
them to re-spawn, maybe 10 seconds since this game is so fast.

battle - both teams start with 2 points to their name with the center point un-held by either side. both teams have
a limited number of re-spawns and the winner is the one that takes all of them (there was rarely a winner. you can
make it so the winner is whoever ends with the most points.

we might want to call them something different haha

push (bulldoze, press, force out, advance)
battle (firefight)

Next

Return to Call Of Duty 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron