Official LAN tastic Super Server

Discussion of all events in here
Rope
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: at your mom's BBQ, slapping my meat on her grill

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby Rope on Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:32 pm

pl8o wrote:
Rope wrote:
pl8o wrote:someone tell me again why we need fiber? We running a link down to MIA or something? :?



We don't need fiber, but I definitely want gig uplinks on the main switches. SFP or CAT5E is fine with me. We just need a decent backbone.


I agree. You have a GB router for the ISP link, yes?



No my router is 10/100 with a 10MB WAN Port. I was mainly concerned with the trunks between each switch, since we always end up having one 24 port in one room, another down the hall, another around a corner. The day I need a Gig link directly to my ISP is the day I get arrested for downloading the entire Internet :D

pl8o
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Gville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby pl8o on Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:08 am

Rope wrote:No my router is 10/100 with a 10MB WAN Port. I was mainly concerned with the trunks between each switch, since we always end up having one 24 port in one room, another down the hall, another around a corner. The day I need a Gig link directly to my ISP is the day I get arrested for downloading the entire Internet :D


I have a 2811 with 100 up and a single GB down...would that be useful?

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:29 am

ive got an 8 port gig switch at the house

and a 24 port 10/100 on the way

when do you guys want to start to setting up?

pl8o
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Gville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby pl8o on Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:46 am

TheRealRyanRay wrote:ive got an 8 port gig switch at the house

and a 24 port 10/100 on the way

when do you guys want to start to setting up?


where do live at? I never been to you place before? I can pitch in probably thurs night for a couple of hours.

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:46 pm

just across the road from you in sparrow building 715 #203 im still moving in so im in and out just call me


unless we hear from Kevin!

pl8o
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Gville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby pl8o on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:11 pm

TheRealRyanRay wrote:just across the road from you in sparrow building 715 #203 im still moving in so im in and out just call me


unless we hear from Kevin!


lol, well I guess it doesn't really matter now that it's at Kevin's again. But that's cool brother, I didn't know you were moving. Good deal

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:13 pm

yeah there will be a big BBQ soon

Rope
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: at your mom's BBQ, slapping my meat on her grill

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby Rope on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:20 pm

Well no one has dialed in yet, or asked to, so as it sits I currently have CS:S installed with the Gun Game mod ready to be deployed.

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:26 pm

let me in
i can add some maps

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:28 pm

are we doing BF2?

if so we can add it [and i need to install it also]

pl8o
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Gville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby pl8o on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:29 pm

Rope wrote:Well no one has dialed in yet, or asked to, so as it sits I currently have CS:S installed with the Gun Game mod ready to be deployed.

you do Linux for this?

pl8o
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Gville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby pl8o on Tue Jun 26, 2007 3:40 pm

TheRealRyanRay wrote:are we doing BF2?

if so we can add it [and i need to install it also]


I don't think both CS:S and BF2 can go on that rig, if I remember the specs Josh mentioned. I'm not sure if he has another one or not. BF2 has a downloadable Windows server install though, not difficult to do at all.

Anyhow, I can bring a box if needed.

Rope
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 2049
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: at your mom's BBQ, slapping my meat on her grill

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby Rope on Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:45 am

pl8o wrote:
TheRealRyanRay wrote:are we doing BF2?

if so we can add it [and i need to install it also]


I don't think both CS:S and BF2 can go on that rig, if I remember the specs Josh mentioned. I'm not sure if he has another one or not. BF2 has a downloadable Windows server install though, not difficult to do at all.

Anyhow, I can bring a box if needed.


It might be up for it if we can set CPU affinity. It's Dual 1.8 XEONS's 2GB RAM, and 4 15,000 RPM Cheetah's in RAID-5. It's running 2003R2, so Windows binaries are needed.

PM me or email me for the RDP IP and password if you guys want to hop in.

Josh

TheRealRyanRay
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:29 pm
Location: Jacksonville, FL

Re: Official LAN tastic Super Server

Postby TheRealRyanRay on Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:13 am

you got mail

Previous

Return to LAN Parties

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron