Need help

The game that started it all
SiDD
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:39 pm
Location: NJ

Need help

Postby SiDD on Mon May 12, 2008 2:11 pm

Ok so im playing 1.6 these days and my PC is barely holding it...and my PC makes the noise of a lawnmower while i play... I dnt know what to do, my Vid card is an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro... I want to play Source but I know if im having issues with 1.6, Source will be much worse... Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

-wicked-toon-X
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8201
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Need help

Postby -wicked-toon-X on Mon May 12, 2008 2:22 pm

well my suggestion would be to go to http://www.slickdeals.net and wait for a deal on a new machine ;D

dude if you're pc can't handle 1.6 your in trouble man.

-]corrupt[- Lexon
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Your attic...

Re: Need help

Postby -]corrupt[- Lexon on Mon May 12, 2008 11:49 pm

what are the specs of your machinej...possible that you just need more ram

SiDD
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:39 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Need help

Postby SiDD on Tue May 13, 2008 1:43 am

Hey, well on Source im averaging 50 fps on aztec and 25 fps on a couple other maps...

I have a P4 2.52 GHz with 512 RAM and an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro

Wat could i do to get a lil better gameplay?

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: Need help

Postby buzz on Tue May 13, 2008 5:19 am

Some more RAM would definately help out... When was the last time you reinstalled Windows? Maybe there's alot of crap running in the background, on startup and the like ..

SiDD
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:39 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Need help

Postby SiDD on Tue May 13, 2008 8:16 am

yoou are right, havehnt reinstalled Windows in ages, I have sooo many files I've kept for various reasons and I can really hear my PC tell me to reinstall haha!! Ive tried to avoid it, but im tired of going for a headshot ingame and all of a sudden my fps drops to 20 and the person kills me instead...Any suggestions on what RAM stick I should get? Im going to go ahead and grab it today... Im tired of 1.6, plus i have an 8 digit ID so ppl think i hack haha... atleast my source steamid is 4 digits lol and shows CAL-P for previous exp lol...

Any other suggestions?

Appreciate the help, thanks!

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: Need help

Postby HangOver on Tue May 13, 2008 11:04 am

if you have a machine that is struggling to run 1.6 you need to step out of the 90's and upgrade. damn dude.

do you still listen to color me badd?

buzz
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6307
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 2:01 am
Location: Omicron Percei 8 .gif

Re: Need help

Postby buzz on Tue May 13, 2008 1:58 pm

Johnny O - Fantasy Girl *dance*

SiDD
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2003 6:39 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Need help

Postby SiDD on Tue May 13, 2008 10:31 pm

Even when i was quite talented at cs, i was getting 45 fps lol... Never really played with 100 fps, i really just use my computer to browse the internet, take care of my business accounts and play cs. If i was planning on going Pro at it lol, id def pick up a new machine, do you think itd work better on my laptop? i got 2 brand new Dells, the 1505 and the 1705...
thnx for the help

-]corrupt[- Lexon
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 3259
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 3:29 pm
Location: Your attic...

Re: Need help

Postby -]corrupt[- Lexon on Wed May 14, 2008 9:08 am

i dont think you really need to upgrade your entire pc, maybe just the ram and 3d card and you'll be fine...also how big is the hard drive? if its one of those 40 gb 5400 rpm, ya might want to upgrade that too.

not an expensive upgrade either, wouldnt run more than 200 bux to get it up to standards i think.

http://www.newegg.com ftw

3s.WyldGoat
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 2:13 pm
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia.gif

Re: Need help

Postby 3s.WyldGoat on Wed May 14, 2008 11:55 am

You just need more ram.

I had almost the same system as you had...

AMD 2700+
ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
2GB PC2700
2x250GB Raid 0 (which helps alot)


Sadly.. mine died last year for still, some unknown reason. I think my motherboard is partially fried, but no way to check that.

HangOver
Elite Member
Elite Member
 
Posts: 6594
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 8:00 pm
Location: Delray Beach

Re: Need help

Postby HangOver on Wed May 14, 2008 11:56 am

build a comp that can handle cod4. that's what all the cool kids are playing now.


Return to Counter-Strike

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron